Quick answer
No winner yet. ShipBob and ShipMonk differ most in architecture and intended operating model. Use this researched comparison to decide which deserves a hands-on pilot—not as a substitute for one.
At a glance
| Decision factor | ShipBob | ShipMonk |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing structure | Custom quote | Custom quote; fees adjust to volume |
| Storage | Warehousing fee category | Storage fee category |
| Pick/pack | Per order, in quote | Volume-adjusted; packaging as additional item |
| Monthly minimum | Not stated on pricing page—ask | Orders × first-item pick fee, less 20% |
| Returns | Flat fee (value-added service) | Per carton + additional items |
| Software / integrations | Dashboard and turnkey integrations stated free | 100+ integrations; tech fees if applicable in quote |
| Network | 250+ destinations; centers in 5 regions | Ships to 200+ countries |
| B2B / EDI | Available at additional cost | Not summarized here—ask |
| Value-added / projects | Kitting and unique needs add cost | Special projects quoted separately |
Architecture and target user
ShipBob
Outsourced fulfillment with its own centers in the US, Canada, UK, Australia and Europe, and a merchant dashboard.
Worth investigating for brands that want software and turnkey integrations included and may fulfill across several regions.
ShipMonk
Outsourced fulfillment with its own software and volume-adjusted fulfillment fees.
Worth investigating for multichannel brands that want a transparent monthly-minimum formula.
Ease and implementation considerations
ShipBob
Implementation is a standard fee category; integration depth for each channel should be piloted.
ShipMonk
Onboarding or platform fees, if any, are specified in the custom quote.
These are research observations, not timing or usability test results. Implementation depends on catalog, data migration, design, channels, integrations, internal skills, and partner scope.
Ecosystem and integrations
ShipBob
Turnkey integrations, stated as free for customers.
ShipMonk
Integrates with 100+ ecommerce carts, marketplaces and solution providers, per ShipMonk.
Pricing approach
ShipBob: Custom quote per customer. Fee categories: implementation, receiving, warehousing, pick/pack/ship per order; shipping varies by weight, dimensions, destination, service and volume; returns at a flat fee (amount not published here); kitting and B2B/EDI at additional cost. Verified Sep 28, 2026.
Current ShipBob pricingShipMonk: Custom quote. Storage, fulfillment (pick-and-pack, receiving, returns), shipping and special projects; fees adjust to volume; monthly minimum = projected orders × first-item pick fee, less 20%; custom packaging billed as an additional item; returns per carton plus additional items. Verified Sep 28, 2026.
Current ShipMonk pricingNeither provider publishes a universal price, so neither is ‘cheaper’ in general. Send both the same order profile, then normalize each quote into cost per order and annual total—including minimums, returns and packaging—with the fulfillment cost calculator.
Build a scenario-based total-cost model. Include implementation, ongoing labor, extensions, communications or payments, support, and migration—not only the published base price.
Which businesses should investigate each
Investigate ShipBob if…
- You want dashboard software and integrations without a separate fee.
- You sell in several of ShipBob’s regions.
- You also need B2B/EDI flows scoped.
Investigate ShipMonk if…
- You want to model minimum-spend exposure up front.
- You sell across many carts and marketplaces.
- Your volume is growing and you want volume-adjusted fees.
What we still need to test
- Submit an identical order profile and compare line-item quotes.
- Model the ShipMonk minimum and ask ShipBob to state any minimum in writing.
- Pilot inbound receiving, pick accuracy and returns with both.
- Compare integration behavior for your storefront and marketplaces.
BestStorefront will not name a winner before those scenarios are completed and documented.
Decision support
Frequently asked questions
Is ShipBob or ShipMonk cheaper?
Not universally. Both quote per merchant, and cost depends on SKUs, order profile, destinations, service levels and contract. Compare modeled cost for your actual orders.
Which has a monthly minimum?
ShipMonk publishes its minimum formula. ShipBob’s pricing page does not state one; ask for it in writing during quoting.